Out of Season

Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; deprive, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching. 

2 Timothy 4:2

Never before have I felt so “out of season”. For those of you who don’t know, I’m not currently in vocational ministry, and I feel like God has been calling me away from vocational ministry for this next season of life. I feel aimless and uncertain. I don’t know where I fit, what I should be doing, ministry-wise. 

I am out of season, and this has had a very negative impact on my spiritual health. Since I haven’t had something that I was working toward, I let my training slip. Skipping my Bible for one day turned into two days, then a week, then three. I would come back and read again for a day or two, then lapse once more. 

But Paul instructs Timothy, a young pastor, to be ready “out of season”. I used to think that this meant to be ready even when I’m “off the clock”, but right now it feels like so much more. 

Be ready, when I don’t have to be. 

Be ready, when no one expects anything of me. 

Be ready, when I don’t seem to have a reason to be. 

Be ready. 

I must confess that through these last few months since my position came to an end, I have not been ready to teach. But I’m back, and I’m striving to be ready.

Second Timothy 2 shares the idea that a Christian (and the pastor specifically) is a like a soldier. Personally, I don’t feel like I’m on the front lines anymore. Or at least not right now. But, even being out of season, I’m a soldier. Perhaps the closest analogy to where I’m at is the national reserve. I’m here and could be called upon, so I must be ready. 

Join the discussion!

