Learning Goal: Earn $1

One dollar
One dollar to an ex-quitter? Priceless if it means the difference between quitting and meeting goals.

Hey guys!

Here at eX-Quitter, one of the things that I want to do is share the things I’m learning about with you. I do this as much to share fun things as for accountability. So what’s new in my neck of the woods?

One of my eX-Quitter List goals is to earn $1,000 on the side for 3 months in a row. I’m a part-time student (cash-flowing grad school) and  a part-time employee at a few different places, so funds are pretty tight. So right now, I’ve set up a learning goal to earn $1 on the side. Now I know what you’re thinking. “One dollar? What good is that going to do?”

First, the point of a learning goal is to give me something to strive toward, an achievable end. Second, I’m not positive that this is something I should be doing long term, but going through the process of earning $1 will enable me to at least have put forth a decent effort. As for what I’ll actually do, I’ve tossed around a few ideas, but nothing seems to stick. (This might be because I was a quitter, but I like to think that it had more to do with misguided efforts.) Recently, a few different things have come onto my radar.I don’t remember when the concept of an internet-based business first came to me, but it was a while ago. Of course, the first few things that I came across were kinda sketchy and scammy (No money down, just do this and that and money will come pouring in!), or required disproportionate amounts of time for very little payoff (do this 20 minute survey for $0.05). Somewhere in there, I stumbled across the idea of lifestyle businesses. The thought of building a personal brand and blogging about the things that interest me was intriguing, and the thought of getting paid for it was even more interesting. However, as I looked into it, it always seemed like something was missing, like there had to be a better way to go about doing this than “make a blog, write a lot, get lucky, earn money”.

The problem was, I couldn’t figure out what it was, or I didn’t feel like I knew enough to actually succeed, so I gave up before I got started (quitter mentality, anyone?). To be perfectly honest, part of the reason why I haven’t publicized eX-Quitter at all is because I was fighting against the urge to just do this with a future intent to monetize. That’s not the goal of this blog. This blog is here to record a journey.

I’ve been looking around at different opportunities for the past week or so, and two things in particular really stood out to me as viable options.

The first opportunity is in copywriting. I don’t know all that much about it, but the gist is that I would start an internet-business where I would freelance to other businesses and work on the writing in their web presence. That could include any number of things, but specifically for long-form sales pages. I know that there are always people looking for help with conversions on sales pages and things like that, so I know that there would be relatively high levels of job security for something like that, and income would scale with the amount of time that I could pour into it, which is appealing to me. If I were going to pursue this further, I’d probably take the CopyHour course.

The second thing that I stumbled upon is actually a few different opportunities wrapped into one. Sean Ogle has crafted a course and a community over at Location Rebel for people exactly like me who want to find a way to create location independent income that allows them to live the life that they want to. This option is a little more pricey, but the opportunity to learn several different business models that work well is appealing to me. I’m the guy who hates to have all his eggs in one basket (an opinion that I’ve learned to hold the hard way), and this course is built to cater to people like me. Don’t like the idea of SEO writing? Maybe building an affiliate sales empire is more your style? Or technical writing? What about design and advertising? You get the point.

I’m not sure if I’m going to take advantage of either of these opportunities. However, as I said before, my learning goal is to earn $1 on the side. After I’ve achieved that goal, I can confidently say that I’ve met my goal, and I’m free to decide to do something else if I want to. It’s not a huge goal, but the purpose for learning goals isn’t being a huge victory. The purpose is to give me a target to hit, then move on. The purpose is to prevent me from simply starting something and quitting part-way through the process.

So there it is, my first learning goal. 🙂 You can check out my learning goals on my eX-Quitter List.

Chris, eX-Quitter

Join the discussion!

