A Brief Update and My Heart for eX-Quitter

Goals are both the nemesis and biggest aid for ex-quitters.
Goals are both the nemesis and biggest aid for ex-quitters.

A few days ago I wrote about the relationship between avid learning and chronic quitting, and I presented 3 options for continuing a life of avid learning while combating chronic quitting: 1) Maintaining all learning simultaneously, indefinitely, 2) focusing on learning within one larger category for designated periods of time, and 3) setting learning goals related to topics of interest.
Personally, I think I’ll be trying out the third option. These probably won’t be eX-Quitter List goals, but smaller goals to help focus my learning. Since I’m trying to make eX-Quitter into a bigger part of my life, I want to be updating you guys about the things I’m learning about, my learning goals, and, of course, my eX-Quitter List progress. I’m not sure what those updates will look like, and I’ll probably try out a few different formats before finding one that really works well. But there it is.

You might remember that I had originally said I was writing a post called “Why eX-Quitter?” and you probably noticed that this isn’t that post. I decided to cut that post because I honestly don’t entirely know why I started eX-Quitter. A blog seemed obvious for getting my thoughts out, but I already had a blog. Why make a new one?

So here’s the deal. I don’t have all that much to say. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: this blog is the chronicle of my journey as an ex-quitter. One powerful way to encourage yourself to follow through on goals is to make them public and invite those around you to hold you accountable. But I’m not just writing this more me. I’m writing hoping that someone somewhere resonates with my struggle and is able to find inspiration and encouragement from the path that I’ve travelled. It might sound cliché, but if I can help one person (other than myself) through this blog, it’s completely worth it to me.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Till next time,
Chris, eX-Quitter

Join the discussion!

