Introducing an eX-Quitter

Chris' Headshot
Hi. I’m Chris and I quit quitting.

Hi.

I’m Chris and I’m an ex-quitter. (As fair warning, I’m also a compulsive sharer, so this might get long.)

I wasn’t always a quitter; it’s not like I was born like that. When I was younger I had all sorts of dreams. I knew that when I grew up I wanted to do exactly what my dad did for a living. (As a brief aside, he sold fertilizer, which is kind of a sad dream for a 4 year old.) I was going to get married super young ands have kids early so I wouldn’t be that old dad that couldn’t play with his kids. I was goings to have my own Digimon (his name was Shiromon) and be a PokéMaster.

As I got older my dreams matured a little. I was going to be an engineer (either electrical or software), make a bunch of money and retire early (I’ve recently found Mr. Money Mustache who did exactly that!). In order to do that, I was probably going to go to UC Berkeley, where both of my parents had graduated. I was still going to get married early and have a handful of kids, and the money and early retirement was going to make that even better.

Before I got to Berkeley, God led me to go to a small Christian university called Biola where I would study Christian Education instead of a branch of engineering (And I’m so glad about that because I’m not sure I would have enjoyed being an engineer). Fast forward a few years and I’m in grad school now, pursuing a Masters of Divinity in Pastoral Care & Counseling. I dutifully work several part-time jobs so that I can cash-flow seminary, go to church, and hang out with my girlfriend. I’m having a good enough time, I guess, and I feel very stable at this point in my life. But the more I think about it , the more I realize that “stable” has just been my personal euphemism for saying “I’m stuck.”

So, what does all of this have to do with being a quitter, anyway?

When I would look around me, I saw friends creating their own personal branding, creating blogs, videos, etc. I saw people my age and younger following their dreams, becoming film makers, relatively well known musicians, chasing down dream jobs, etc. I saw people moving forward in their lives, making changes, taking on challenges, DOING stuff. Meanwhile, I’m “stable.” Stuck. Talk about discouraging. But I wasn’t satisfied with being stuck– er… stable. I wanted something to be happening in my life. And that’s where this blog came in, right? Wrong.

First, I went through a season of trying to create some change in my life. I started getting really good at video games (particularly League of Legends, which I no longer play). Then I started working out. Then I picked up my guitar again and toyed with the idea of releasing covers. Then I started a blog. Then I was focused on really nailing my personal finances. Somewhere in there I picked up a longboard skateboard. And I became an avid blog reader. And I started studying my Bible more. And reading books outside of class. And joined up with my girlfriend’s photography business. And listened to a handful of podcasts regularly. And the list goes on. This is where the quitting becomes prevalent (if you hadn’t guessed).

Eventually, I got sick of it all. I was frustrated that I didn’t seem to accomplish anything. Frustrated that I seemed to be really okay at a lot of things, but not particularly good at any single thing. Frustrated that people around me seemed to be accomplishing things, and I was stagnant. After a tough heart to heart conversation with my girlfriend, I realized I needed to do something about my condition. I realized that I was a chronic quitter, and that, if I didn’t do anything about it, I would slowly (or quickly) spiral down a nasty funnel of bitterness. I decided to do something about it, and this blog is the first step in my life as a former quitter.

Hi, I’m Chris and I quit quitting. Welcome to my journey.

Join the discussion!

